Next Friday night, stay home.

I mean, be prepared, but don’t go out. Here’s my three-step process:

1- The cocktail:


My birthday happened recently, and I tried the birthday cake shots on pinterest. Very disappointing. They had cake mix, which only made them gritty, and the vodka mixed with the half and half just seemed sour. This left me with whip cream and cake vodkas. Tough times, right? I’ve been experimenting with mixtures, from orange juice to lemon drop martini mix, but the very best is the key lime pie:

Key Lime Pie Cocktail
Equal parts of…
Whip Cream Vodka
Cake Vodka
Sweetened Lime Juice

2- The sandwich:


I just love a pinterest success story. This pear and havarti sandwich comes from Foodie Crush. I made a few changes, though. I skipped the jam, because I thought that sounded too sweet with the honey. I believe that was the right choice. I also put basil in the honey mixture instead of rosemary, and stuck with standard sandwich bread. And then I proceeded to eat two. One of the best sandwiches I’ve ever had, and not as complicated as it seems.

Pear and Honey with Havarti Grilled Cheese
3 tablespoons butter
1/3 cup honey
1 tablespoon fresh basil, chopped
2 slices of bread
½ fresh pear, sliced
slices Havarti cheese
1 egg, whisked
1 tablespoon milk

1. In a small saucepan over medium heat, melt 1 tablespoon of butter. Add honey and basil and stir until blended. Simmer for at least a few minutes, and as much as 30. Remove from heat.

2. Layer cheese, pear, honey, and more cheese between two slices of bread.

3. Heat a skillet on medium and melt 1 tablespoon of butter. In a shallow bowl, whisk egg and milk together. Dip composed sandwiches in egg mixture, and add to skillet. Cook until golden on both sides.

3- Dark Shadows:


You’ve likely seen the commercials for the movie of the same name featuring Johnny Depp. But did you know that it was a soap opera in the 1960s? Very fortunately, it’s available on Netflix Instant. The very gothic, mysterious, half-hour episodes are extremely addicting and are perfect for when you want to eat in front of the television. Which, for me, is every meal.

Bonus: Breakfast Sandwich


The next morning, you’ll have hard honey sauce still sitting in the pan. You may be out of pears, but apples will do. So reheat the honey and make another havarti sandwich with plenty of egg and an iced coffee. There. Now you’re allowed to leave your home.

Leave a Reply

