Cherry Chocolate Surprise Birthday Cupcakes

The surprise is: they’re strawberry. Where are all of the cherry chip cake mixes? That was my favorite flavor as a kid. Cherry chip cake with Kool Aid frosting made the best birthday cakes. Kool Aid frosting is homemade frosting flavored and colored with cherry Kool Aid. I had my heart set on cherry chip, so even though I had to buy strawberry, I still topped them with maraschino cherries so that they would look like something Hello Kitty would eat. And I believe she would.

I saw the idea for these on Pinterest. And they are simply brownie batter on the bottom half, strawberry cake batter on the top half, and frosted with store-bought vanilla frosting and rainbow sprinkles. Extremely easy, but still wildly crowd-pleasing, at least for a group of 20- and 30-something professional writers.

Leave a Reply

